Make Your Pizza Plantbased With a Delicious, Vegan Crust
If you’re vegan, you’re probably used to forgoing many traditional foods that non-vegans eat, or at least making some serious substitutions to the ingredient list. One extremely popular food that is often not vegan-friendly is pizza. Many vegans may feel that they have to avoid pizza altogether, or at least opt for no cheese or meats on their slices. But, to many people’s surprise, there are tons of ways that you can still enjoy pizza as a vegan.
Today we’re talking about pizza crust. Is it vegan, and if not, how can you make it vegan or find pre-made vegan versions? Where can you find pre-made, fully vegan pizzas? Find out answers to these questions and more below. As it turns out, you can still indulge in your favorite comfort food as a vegan!
At The Pizza Plant, we take our pizza crust seriously. Our crust is Organic, scratch-made, and 100% vegan, and you can try it out on both of our signature pizzas. For a pizza topped with delicious, vegan pepperoni, go for our Everything But the Hog plantbased pizza. For a vegan take on a classic sausage pizza, try our Salsiccia Italiano plantbased pizza. Shop online or head to your local grocery store to get your hands on The Pizza Plant. Better for both you and the planet, The Pizza Plant is the way to go!
Is Pizza Crust Vegan?
Usually, yes! In fact, most pizza crusts are based with a mix of flour, yeast, water, salt, and olive oil, which are all vegan ingredients. You can make this basic, vegan crust on your own, or find a version of it at most grocery stores or pizza joints.
Although this traditional version of pizza crust can be found or made easily, some types of pizza crust include more, non-vegan ingredients. These ingredients are usually dairy or egg-based, which of course, makes the crust not vegan-friendly. Some crusts add in egg to give the bread a more fluffy texture, and others add cheese or butter to create a more creamy flavor.
For the most part, pizza dough and therefore, pizza crust is vegan. Which means that if you’re a vegan eater, it should be relatively simple to find a pre-made, vegan pizza crust, or to make one yourself.
There’s Better Pizza
As mentioned earlier, we’ve grown up from the days of Pizza Hut-fueled sleepovers and cheap pizza-themed parties. Honestly, most adult stomachs have a hard time digesting all of that dairy and grease, anyway. But we can still enjoy pizza with as much delight as we did when we were nine. The Pizza Plant pizzas aren’t fancy (though by all means, feel free to gussy them up if you please). They’re downright comforting, warming, and filling—which is exactly what we want out of a pizza. When you keep a few in your freezer, you don’t even have to think about tipping the delivery guy. Take a moment of silence to mourn the shortcomings of Pizza Hut, then move on to the deliciously plant-based future.
Remember to follow us on Instagram @thepizzaplantusa for drool-worthy pizza pics (you’ve got to capture that vegan cheese pull!), perfect pizza pairings, new store distribution, and more!
How Can I Make a Vegan Pizza Crust from Scratch?
Looking to make your own vegan pizza crust at home? There are tons of easy, tasty, and fully vegan recipes online. Try this simple recipe by Karissa’s Vegan Kitchen, or this basic pizza dough recipe by Elephantastic Vegan. For an even simpler recipe that doesn’t require yeast, try this recipe by Vegan Richa.
Do Traditional Pizza Joints Serve Vegan Crust?
Most do! If you’re ordering pizza from a local pizza joint, make sure to ask if their crusts contain any dairy or egg, or if their crust is vegan. If the answer is yes, you’re good to go. Just be sure that the rest of the toppings you order for your pizza are vegan as well.
You can also find vegan pizza crusts at fast-food pizza chains such as Domino’s or Pizza Hut. At Domino’s, you can order their thin crust which is vegan, and then top the pizza with their classic red sauce and vegetables, which are also all vegan. Furthermore, several of their dipping sauces are vegan, including their garlic sauce, barbeque sauce, and Italian dipping cups. For a full breakdown of how to eat vegan at Domino’s, click here. Pizza Hut has many vegan options when it comes to pizza crust. Their Thin ‘N Crispy Dough, Hand-Tossed Style, Pan Crust, and P’Zone Dough are all vegan, and even their Buttery Blend Crust flavor is vegan. You can then complete your pizza with their red sauce that is vegan, and all of their vegetables which are also, to no surprise, vegan. For a full breakdown of how to eat vegan at Pizza Hut, click here.
It’s also important to note that although there are ways to make your Domino’s or Pizza Hut pizzas vegan, both Domino’s and Pizza Hut use the same equipment to make all of their pizzas, so there is risk of cross-contamination. If you are a strict vegan or have allergies to meat or dairy, you may want to stay away from chains like Domino’s and Pizza Hut altogether.
Where Can I Buy Pre-Made Pizzas With Vegan Pizza Crust?
We’re glad you asked! At The Pizza Plant, we do vegan right– and our pizza crust is no exception! Both our Everything but The Hog vegan pizza and our Salsiccia Italiano vegan pizza are made with a delicious, Organic Thin Crust Dough. Our dough is made from simple, organic ingredients, including organic 00 flour, organic safflower oil, organic active dry yeast, and organic brown sugar. For a full list of ingredients and nutrition facts, head here. When baked, our Organic Thin Crust Dough becomes a thin, flaky crust that’s mouth-wateringly good.
Our vegan pizza crust is certainly worth tasting, and you can try it with both of our signature, vegan pizzas. For a vegan pizza topped with vegan pepperoni, check out our Everything But the Hog vegan Pizza. For a vegan version of an Italian sausage pizza, check out our Salsiccia Italiano vegan Pizza.
Remember to follow us on Instagram @thepizzaplantusa for drool-worthy pizza pics, perfect pizza pairings, new store distribution, and more!