Plantbased Vs. Vegan (What’s The Difference?)


Vegan and plantbased. You’ve probably seen and heard these buzzwords just about everywhere. From food packaging at grocery stores, to restaurant menu items, to beauty products – it’s no surprise that as the vegan or plantbased diet has grown in popularity, so has the demand for fully vegan and plantbased consumer goods. But, against popular belief, the words vegan and plantbased are truly not interchangeable. In fact, they can mean entirely different things – and we’re going to let you in on the differences between them today!

Although they have their differences, we know one product that is both vegan and plantbased by a landslide. We’re talking about The Pizza Plant, of course! Our pizzas are fully vegan, meaning they contain no animal-derived ingredients, and plantbased meaning they’re made solely from ingredients found straight from the earth. You can find our two signature pizzas in the frozen section of your local grocery store or by shopping online on the GTFO It’s Vegan marketplace. We’re all about making following a vegan and plantbased diet easy and enjoyable – so stock up on some of our pre-made, delectable plantbased pizzas today!

Now, let’s break down the differences between the words “plantbased” and “vegan.” 

What Does It Mean If Something Is Marked As Vegan?

So, you pick up a food item in the grocery store and notice it’s marked as “vegan.” What exactly does that mean? When something is vegan, it does not contain any animal-derived ingredients. It legally cannot include any meat, dairy, or egg products. If you’re looking to avoid these ingredients, then you’ll certainly want to look for foods that are marked as being vegan. However, if you’re not as concerned about the inclusion or traces of animal ingredients and are more concerned about eating wholesome and healthy, then you may want to be looking for foods marked as “plantbased.” You’ll learn why below.

Be warned! Just because a food is marked as “vegan,” does not necessarily deem it as healthy for you. To be considered vegan, a food or product must only be composed of non-animal-derived ingredients. It does not have to contain vegetables, fruits, vitamins – or plants at all, for that matter. To give you an example, Oreos are considered vegan-friendly, but you certainly won’t find these well-known cookies on a list of the healthiest vegan foods you can eat. If you’re turning to a vegan diet for health reasons, be aware that just because it’s vegan, doesn’t mean it’s healthy. Always read up on the actual ingredient list to get an idea of what’s really inside that vegan food or product you’re grabbing.

What Does It Mean If Something Is Marked As Plantbased?

Now, you may be thinking – “A-ha! I’ve cracked the code. I simply need to look for foods that are plantbased in order to ensure that they’re healthy.” But, slow down there because unfortunately, it’s not that simple. In order for a food to be marked as plantbased, it only has to contain some ingredients that come from plants. The definition is truly allusive. Some brands are able to claim their products to be “plantbased”, when really they only include one plant-derived ingredient, while others, like us at The Pizza Plant, are truly including only plant-derived ingredients in their plantbased products.

Aside from these products sometimes containing artificial and even harmful ingredients that do not come from plants, they can also contain animal-derived ones. Yep, “plantbased” foods can contain meat, dairy, eggs, and other ingredients that vegans strive to stay away from. So, what should you do? For starters, always read nutrition labels. Look for ingredients that you’re familiar with, let alone can pronounce. Also, be sure to read the allergen section of the label. If it says anything along the lines of, “contains dairy, eggs, or meat” you’ll want to stay clear. If, on the other hand, it does not include those ingredients and instead is full of healthy plants, grains, nuts, seeds, and other foods drawn straight from the earth, consider it a plantbased green light. A.K.A, dig in!

Feeling like you have a better understanding of vegan vs. plantbased? We sure hope so! And listen, we get it. It shouldn’t have to be this confusing! But, one thing’s for certain. At The Pizza Plant, we’re all about transparency. When we tell you our pizzas are better for both you and the planet, made with healthy fully plantbased ingredients, and are not only vegan, but wholesome – we mean it! You can enjoy our plantbased pizzas any time without worrying about what’s inside!

If you found this post helpful, be sure to share it with a friend or family member who could use a little lesson on vegan vs. plantbased. For all The Pizza Plant grocery locations and to find one near you, visit our store locator page. To order nationwide shipping, visit our delivery page.

Remember to follow us on Instagram @thepizzaplantusa for drool-worthy pizza pics, perfect pizza pairings, new store distribution, and more!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *