Debunking 5 Vegan Myths: Starting With Oysters


The vegan diet has undoubtedly gained traction over the past decade. From a diet that was essentially unheard of in US culture, to a diet that’s quite normal and popular, the idea of only consuming foods that are not derived from animals has certainly become prominent in our society. Whether you’re vegan for health, environmental, or ethical reasons, it’s an amazing diet that we, at The Pizza Plant, fully support. Why? Because eating more plants and less animal-derived products is better for you and the planet as a whole! 

If you’re a vegan, you’ve probably spent some time searching the web about all things vegan – such as things you can and cannot eat, whether being a vegan is healthy and sustainable, and more. And, whether you’re a vegan or not, you’ve probably heard some rumors about the vegan diet. Today, we’re going to break-down 5 vegan myths and let you in on the truth about them.

All this vegan talk making you hungry? We can’t blame you! Head to your local grocery store or shop online to get your hands on The Pizza Plant. Our pizzas are 100% plantbased, scratch-made, and delicious. It’s no myth when we say that our pizzas have vegans and meat-eaters alike coming back for seconds!

Here are 5 vegan myths, starting with oysters:

1. Oysters are vegan-friendly

Or – are they? The reason people believe that oysters are vegan is because they do not have a central nervous system, and therefore cannot feel pain. Others argue that they are still a living creature that falls into the category of shellfish, which vegans stay away from. We would have to agree with the latter and say that oysters are not vegan-friendly. But, we won’t judge you if you still choose to eat them! You can read more on the heated oyster debate here

2. Avocados and almonds aren’t vegan

We know, it sounds silly. But those who argue this myth say it’s because these foods 

“require bee colonies to mechanically move around crops for pollination.” We would argue that avocados and almonds are certainly vegan-friendly. Sticking to a vegan diet is not about completely ridding the agriculture industry of practices that are harmful to the environment. Rather, it’s about significantly lessening these effects. 

3. Vegans don’t get enough protein

If you’re a vegan eater, you probably hear this one a lot. Many people think that wholesome sources of protein only come from animals and that therefore, vegans are deprived of it. However, as it turns out, there are more plantbased sources of protein than you could imagine, such as seitan, tofu, and lentils. Furthermore, there’s protein in many more foods than you may think, including in vegetables. For a list of the best sources of vegan protein, click here

4. Honey is vegan

Just like the oyster debate, you’ll also get a lot of heated debate with this one. Although some vegans choose to still consume honey, many agree that it’s technically not vegan. Honey bees excrete honey naturally, but they also do so to support their offspring and for winter food storage for their hive. Depriving bees of the honey they need to survive is the last thing we vegans want to do.

5. Vegans miss out on fun and tasty foods

Wrong! If you have a meat-eater saying this to you, have them try a plantbased pizza from The Pizza Plant. We guarantee they’ll change their mind. Our pizzas are 100% vegan, better for both you and the planet, and oh-sooo-tasty. Don’t believe us? Grab one of our pre-made pizzas from your local grocery store or online. Being vegan has never been so easy and enjoyable with The Pizza Plant!

We hope you feel a bit more knowledgeable on what’s truthful and what’s not when it comes to vegan rumors. If you found this post helpful, be sure to share it with a friend. As always, don’t forget to head to your local grocery store or shop online for The Pizza Plant! 

For all The Pizza Plant grocery locations and to find one near you, visit our store locator page. To order nationwide shipping, visit our delivery page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *