HOW TO ORDER DAIRY FREE PIZZA AT A RESTAURANT
Whether it’s for health, ethical, environmental, or allergy reasons — sticking to a dairy free diet can be challenging, especially when eating at restaurants. Although there are plenty of fully dairy free and plantbased restaurants out there, the vast majority of restaurants include dairy in their dishes. On the bright side, there are actually many ways that you can turn some of your favorite restaurant dishes dairy free!
Many people’s favorite meal is pizza. It’s easy to find out and about, it’s versatile, and it’s flat out delicious. When you think of pizza, you probably picture lots of cheese — which, if you’re a dairy free eater, makes it a no-go. We’re here to tell you that it is actually possible to order dairy free pizzas at many restaurants. Yep, you heard that right. Read on to learn where you can sit and enjoy some delicious dairy free pizza.
Looking to enjoy a fully dairy-free pizza but not looking to leave the house? We get it. At The Pizza Plant, eating plantbased pizza in the comfort of our homes is our favorite past time. Our pizzas are not only dairy free, but also Organic, scratch-made, and mouth-wateringly good! You can find both of our signature pizzas in the frozen section of your local grocery store or order them online to have them delivered straight to your door. Dairy-free pizza has never been so attainable (and delicious!) with The Pizza Plant.
Do restaurants serve dairy-free pizza?
Although most pizza places probably won’t offer a fully dairy-free or plantbased pizza, there are usually ways to make a pizza that they do offer dairy free.
The simplest way to do this is to order your ‘za without cheese! Now, we know what you’re thinking — “Duh! But what about the other pizza ingredients that contain dairy?” It turns out, most other classic pizza ingredients do not contain dairy! Pizza crust is typically made up of flour, salt, yeast, and water, which are all dairy-free ingredients by nature. A classic marinara sauce is typically made from tomatoes, herbs and spices, also all dairy-free ingredients. Classic toppings (other than cheese) such as vegetables, meats, or vegan meats also do not contain dairy. Of course, stay away from most “white sauces,” as they usually contain cream, as well as complex sauces that may contain cheese or milk.
When you’re ordering a pizza at a restaurant, it’s always best to let your server know about your dietary restrictions, especially if you have a dairy allergy. Although restaurants may be able to remove dairy-free ingredients from your pizza, they often use the same equipment for their dairy pizzas. So, if you suffer from a serious dairy allergy, it may be best to find a plantbased pizza restaurant or to make your dairy-free pizza at home.
Some popular pizza chains offer fully dairy free pizzas. One of these being Blaze Pizza, a chain pizza joint that allows you to build your own personalized pizza. Blaze offers dairy-free pizza crust as well as fully dairy-free vegan cheese! We highly recommend trying out their dairy-free ‘zas. You can also order dairy-free pizzas from fast-food joints like Dominos and Pizza Hut. Click each link to learn how. Be aware that although it's possible to order dairy-free pizzas from fast-food pizza restaurants, they also use the same equipment for their dairy and dairy-free pizzas. So, if you have a dairy allergy, you may want to avoid these places altogether.
Where can I find the best pre-made dairy-free pizzas?
We know how hard it can be to eat out at a restaurant when tired from a long week. If you’re looking for pre-made dairy-free pizzas but are not in the mood to go to a restaurant, try The Pizza Plant! We top both our signature pizzas with Organic Mozarella Style Cashew Nut Cheese that oozes and bubbles just like the real thing, and has plantbased eaters and cheese eaters craving more. At The Pizza Plant, we do pizza right, and make it easy and enjoyable to eat dairy-free and plantbased. Simply pop our pre-made pizzas in the oven, and just like that – you’ve got a delicious meal that was easier than ever to make, and satisfies your dietary needs.
For a pizza that’s topped with savory, plantbased pepperoni, go for our Everything But The Hog plantbased pizza. For a pizza that’s loaded with delicious, vegan sausage, try our Salsiccia Italiano plantbased pizzas. Both of our pizzas will give you that cheesy, yet 100% dairy-free taste that you’re craving, without compromising feeling amazing from the inside out.
Head to your local grocery store or shop online today for The Pizza Plant. Dairy-free and vegan have never tasted this good.
For all The Pizza Plant grocery locations and to find one near you, visit our store locator page. To order nationwide shipping, visit our delivery page.